Stim Day #8, IVF #2

Hi there.

I’m on stim day #8 and fighting the feeling these meds are not working well. Last time I went through IVF my belly felt hugely uncomfortable and I was actually in pain toward the end, not just discomfort. But this time I’m not feeling much of anything. Maybe a twinge here or there. I know I shouldn’t read into that but it’s hard not to….

I have my E2 level and ultrasound tomorrow morning. The plan is to stim 11 days, but that could change after tomorrow’s appt. I had to shell out another $600 to buy an additional two days of menopur and one day of Follistim. Crazy expensive. It never crossed my mind that I’d have to buy additional meds. If we go past day 11 then I’ll not only have to buy more Follistim and Menopur, but also Ganirelix. Ugh.

Cue the anxiety trying to enter. Thankfully I got on my knees this morning (the best thing I could have done) and asked God for a really good day today with the kids– because it’s been a long week of feeling pretty crummy for me, which I think has added to my overall discouragement. And today was an awesome day! I felt much better, which was a relief. It was great to be able to stay busy.

I pray I have good news to report tomorrow. And if I don’t, God knows what He’s doing even when I can’t seem to see the path forward. My Mom and I were talking earlier about how it’s a good thing that we didn’t wait too long to do IVF, because between the low follicle count and my poor response to the meds, it seems like the window for me to have another baby is rapidly closing. And know knows, it might have already closed. We’ll find out!

In other news, my Mom made this beautiful poncho for Rachel (and also a matching hat). I love it so much that I’ve decided that I’ve got to learn to crochet before my kids have kids. So I have a little bit of time to learn (I’d better!) 😉


Leave a comment