Unwanted Weight Loss

I really hope and pray this post is not self-serving. I know many who feel sick most of the time, for reasons still unknown. As someone who has dealt with years of progressing endometriosis pain and now years of food intolerance and allergies, I get it. I have learned that I must be mindful to not allow pain, illness or the drive to find a cure to consume me. So I  write this post timidly, because although I’m confused and a little bewildered, in the grand scheme of things it’s really quite inconsequential.

____________________________________________________

Unwanted weight loss. Now that’s not a title I ever expected to type! I’m quickly approaching my mid 30’s, and being post-baby #2, I really thought the baby weight would be more stubborn.

Although I have been the same weight for my ENTIRE adult life (excluding pregnancies, obviously), I have now dropped 16 pounds below that. I’ve been losing anywhere from 1-4 pounds a month while TRYING to gain weight.

I was sick for several months with joint pain, heartburn, constant belly pain, no appetite, and very low energy. This started in February, after I had a brief stomach flu.  I also was having cramping pretty often throughout the month, and was afraid the Endometriosis was rearing it’s ugly head again. I went to my GP twice and had multiple workups done. By the second GP visit I was down 9 pounds from my baseline weight. I was worked up for gall bladder disease (labs and an ultrasound), Lyme’s disease, Rheumatoid arthritis (which runs in my family), Lupus, and thyroid issues (and probably some others that I forgot). And praise God- all the labs came back within normal limits.

But I was at my wit’s end with feeling terrible, and out of desperation I decided to try cutting out all gluten and dairy again (this is my third stint over the years) on August 1st. After all, my Dad can’t tolerate gluten and my sister can’t tolerate gluten or dairy. I decided it was time to accept the fact that I might as well be in the same predicament. So I cut gluten and dairy out and I felt really terrible for another 3 weeks and then BAM! I felt normal again, and the joint pain went away.

I also weaned Rachel around this time and expected my metabolism to slow down a bit.

I was wrong. My weight loss really started to skyrocket. Complicated diets make eating… well, complicated. I’m thankful for the easy solution to feeling better, but man, coming up with stuff to eat (when you lack a good appetite and don’t love to cook) is difficult for me.

Last week, I made a concerted effort to eat as much as possible. One day, I remember eating 1/2  bag of potato chips in addition to meals and other snacks. And let’s not forget that it was Thanksgiving last week and that I polished off more than 1/2 of a gluten & dairy free apple pie (thanks to my Mom for making it!). So I was pretty perplexed when I hopped on the scale Sunday to see that I had lost another 2 pounds in a single week.

I’m ok with being thin, and I know there are many people who would love to have my problem. But I’m just not sure where this weight loss thing will end, and that scares me.  I imagine it’s got to be just as maddening for someone to work out and eat carefully, only to hop on the scale and realize that they’re only gaining weight. It feels like your body is making a huge mistake!

So please forgive my whiny post about wasting away for no good reason (that I can come up with, at least!). I’ll leave you a few pics of the kiddos and the park nearby.

img_20161121_160945

img_20161121_161242

img_20161127_163100

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Endometriosis, Food Intolerance, Pain

6 responses to “Unwanted Weight Loss

  1. This is scary!! No matter how much I’ve wanted to lose weight, I would be really concerned if something like this happened to me. I hope you figure it out quickly and can stay at a healthy weight! Please keep us updated as I’ll be worried about you.

    Your kiddos are adorable! I can’t get over how big baby girl is already!!

    • Thank you! It is creepy. Feel like I must have cancer or something, but then remind myself that I feel way too good for that.
      Yes – Rachel is a full on toddler now, into everything all the time and trying to keep up with her older brother. Fun but exhausting! Hope you can get a little vacay away from the cold soon. Take care!

    • She ordered an H.Pylori back in August but I put it off after going to the lab twice and returned home without being able to get the test done. I need to stop putting it off and get it done. It’s the breathing-kind of test so I guess it takes a while = need babysitter.

  2. Aww thanks!! Yep I got the H. Pylori test done – it was negative. So now the next step (I guess) is to go see a gastroenterologist. I really want to get my stomach scoped and just make sure I don’t have stomach cancer or anything creepy like that. Weight is still the same…not dropping at least, so that’s good! Thanks for checking in. Read about your dog warming up to your kiddos; that’s really great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

