Day 1.

I’m going to try to commit to blogging every day for a month. I don’t know if I can do it, but I’ll try. I’ve been going through an emotional funk lately (how’s that for medical terminology?) and I need to process and remind myself of truth. It’s hard not to listen to accusing lies when you’re already feeling somewhat emotionally poor.

I’ve always been a people pleaser. It’s a real drag that I’m geared that way, because do you know what happens when you idolize pleasing anyone but Jesus? Misery, quickly followed by despair. I’ve found that I can let people down; I am capable of taking the steps to do what is right in my mind, even if I know the fallout will be rough. But then the fallout often feels worse than I had imagined and I quickly become miserable and depressed over it. I don’t enjoy conflict and feel like it quickly sucks the joy of life right out of me. I often feel heartsick over it.

So, I’m sure you guessed it — God is allowing these painful situations to occur for a very good reason. Clearly He is doing a good work in me! But it is a painful process. And I think that it will be until I learn to walk so closely with Him that I need not fear what man does to me. Even if it means loneliness and isolation (a big fear of mine).

Life has it’s peaks and it’s valleys. This is a valley, for sure. However long this valley stretches for, I know He is with me– not just walking with me, but carrying me along the way.

“So our eyes look to the Lord our God, till He has mercy upon us.” Psalm 123:2

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 1.

  1. I’m sorry you are dealing with this situation and (I’m assuming) demanding people. I hope this time will pass quickly and your joy will remain.

  2. I’m so sorry you’ve been in a funk. No fun! I have as well. Just wrote a post about it Friday!! I love what you said : “It’s hard not to listen to accusing lies when you’re already feeling somewhat emotionally poor.” AMEN!!! Praying for you!!

  3. Pingback: Day 4. What I Learned By Leading Worship. | mercynew

Leave a Reply

