Endometriosis: Is it Coming Back?

It’s 2 am and I’m sitting here wondering: Is the endometriosis coming back? Little by little, the pain has started to return with each subsequent cycle that I have had since Rachel was born. I sat up in bed last night and a very sharp pain in my lower right side took my breath away for a few minutes. The same pain had occurred the day before. There is now a dull ache in my side, almost like my ovary is tacked up against my abdominal wall. It’s a pain I am all too well familiar with.

The other thought I had, which seems much more unlikely, was an ectopic pregnancy. I only have one fallopian tube, and I’m pretty sure it’s mostly or completely blocked, based on the last hysterosalpinogram I had years ago. Although I am high risk for an ectopic pregnancy, it’s seems pretty unlikely that I’d been feeling pain from such this early on in my cycle (I think I’m on CD 25).

I’m tempted to feel frustrated that I seem to have crazy aggressive endometriosis, but miraculously we have two children (despite thinking I would need a hysterectomy 3 years ago). If there’s anything I’m learning these days, it’s that the past does not necessarily predict the future, and despite my best guess– I actually have no idea what God has for our future. I’m learning to stop making assumptions. So I don’t know if this means that more exams, ultrasounds and surgeries are in my immediate future. I don’t know if it means we will be able to have more children. But I do know that God can do anything, and that His plan is always best. (And His plans are usually a complete shock to me.)

In the meantime, I’m attempting to wean Rachel. The reasons for this are complicated and varied, and it’s going about as well as trying to get a lion to go on a vegetarian diet. She wants nothing to do with either the bottle or formula. She just wants to nurse, and it makes it doubly hard for this mama to see that. Weaning Josh was hard and yet still much easier than this, so I am not sure of the path forward from here. We’ve tried just about every trick in the book. I’m warming up formula at the moment that I’m 99% positive she will reject (but like I said, I don’t know the future!). Maybe this time she’ll take it. Or maybe we’ll still be at this in a few weeks — please say a prayer for us!

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Baby, Endometriosis

6 responses to “Endometriosis: Is it Coming Back?

  1. chemicalfreemomma

    I will keep you in my prayers. Your description of the pain brought flashbacks for me. I have had a very long, complicated experience with my health issues. I am working on getting my blog up and going to share my story. I suffered through pain EXACTLY as you described. I have had 14 surgeries for endometriosis, including a complete hysterectomy…only to find out 2 years later that it was a misdiagnosis and I actually did not have endometriosis at all. 😳 Yes, I did just say that. I actually have a severe myofascial pelvic floor disorder. Every surgery that I had made my actual issue get worse & worse. I highly recommend finding a urogynecologist and getting a second opinion. You may not have the same outcome as me, but I would rather share my experience to keep ALL women fighting the “endometriosis” struggle aware to be their own advocate. 💖

    • Thanks so much! 14 surgeries…wow, that is a lot. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. Endometriosis has been found quite pervasively by both pathology reports and the naked eye in the 3 surgeries I’ve had thus far, and I also have a family history of endometriosis. Thanks for mentioning the MPPS. It’s good to be aware of and I will definitely keep it in mind as I have a few of the symptoms. How are you treating it?

      • Lisa

        I am so glad to hear that they have done biopsies and confirmed your diagnosis with pathology. My doctor had never sent a single sample to pathology until my hysterectomy. They had always seen it with the naked eye, or so they claimed. To finally find relief from the pain, I have done a lot of physical therapy along with lots of manual work on my body. I have spent hours upon hours having a therapist manually tear the scar tissue while working on my belly. It is very painful, but brought better relief than any surgery I ever had. I have also been going for pelvic floor therapy. An hour of internal physical therapy 1-2 times per week. I have had two rounds of 20 vaginal trigger point injections this year. I have also had surgery to have an interstim unit put into my hip. There is a wire going into my sacral nerve that is giving constant stimulation to my bladder, bowel and pelvic floor. The combination of everything together finally has me feeling like I am on the right track. It is going to be a long haul to get back to what I remember as normal. I just went to a chiropractor this week and they have found that my pelvis is rotated over 13 degrees on the side and dropped down significantly lower than the other side. I am determined and keep fighting to reclaim my life. I will get there eventually.

  2. I’m sorry that the pain is coming back and you are having these worries. One thing to keep in mind is, with endo, pain is not really an indicator of how bad the disease has spread. I’m actually surprised yours has come back so soon considering 2 pregnancies close together and breastfeeding which often will suppress the endo from growing from what I’ve always been told. But I’ve had a lot of pain in my left ovary area too the last few months especially during my period so…. I am concerned as well. I hope you will feel better and that it’s just a random bout of pain and not that devil endo. :/

    • Well, for me pain has been a decent indicator in the past. Usually increased pain and/or pressure = endometrioma for me. But this doesn’t feel like that, thankfully. I’m not thinking at all that it’s spread much at this point. But just don’t want it to get out of control like it was before! So sorry you’ve had ovary pain for a few months. :/ It’s so hard to know sometimes what the best course of action is in these situations. (If only we had our own ultrasound machines haha.)

      • I second the at home ultrasound! Not that I would know what I was looking at but at least I would have some idea. You would think we would be experts though really after so many dates with the wand. 😉

Leave a Reply

