One Trip I Want to Remember

Since having kids, there have been entire trips as well as segments of trips that I wouldn’t mind too much if I permanently forgot about them. However, our trip to Monterey last weekend was definitely not one of them! We had such a great time!

I planned and booked this trip because my mom and sister rarely get a break from their busy lives and responsibilities. My sister returns overseas in less than two months, and she’ll be gone for over three years. A lot happens in three years. I wanted some good memories from their time in the U.S. to help me make it through their long upcoming absence. (I invited my little sister to come as well, but she was already booked for the weekend with other things.)

As it turned out, Monterey was a wonderful place to visit! I’ll probably come back and read this blog post in a year or two when I’m really missing my sister because she has been gone for so long. So I’m not holding back: I’m going to post a ton of pictures!

I forgot how pretty is was in Monterey. It had been at least 15 years since I had spent much time there.

IMG_20160507_103957

The first thing when we arrived was check out the motel suite and give Rachel a break from the long car ride. She had cried the last 45 minutes or so of the car ride. The motel was older but well maintained. I was really glad I rented a suite so that Rachel could nap and go to bed on time in a dark room and the rest of us could still hang out and visit.

IMG_20160506_152816

We made sure she got enough exercise in between being carried in the front pack, being held and riding in the car.

IMG_20160506_160125

If you ever go to Monterey, you should check out the antique mall. It’s huge! We didn’t even make it through the entire place in the 1.5 hours we were there. My mom treated my sister and I to each an antique piece for mother’s day, and my mom bought this giant metal bunny for her yard. (Sounds odd but it was really cute– you’d have to see it to understand what I’m talking about….)

 

Antique mall = stuff everywhere!

Antique mall = stuff everywhere!

After the antique mall we wondered around Cannery Row and decided on where to eat dinner.

IMG_20160506_172129 IMG_20160506_171621 IMG_20160506_171514 IMG_20160506_171441

Dinner was really nice. Such a treat!

IMG_20160506_182123 IMG_20160506_174346

We headed back to the suite and I put Rachel down for the night. My sister and I went on a walk on the beach (which took about 5 minutes by foot to get there) and my mom stayed behind and worked on knitting a new sweater for Rachel.

IMG_20160506_192627

It was so gorgeous! I wasn’t expecting the white sand like they have in Florida…

IMG_20160506_191035

There wasn’t much wind and surprisingly, despite all the rain that day, it wasn’t very cold. I couldn’t believe how peaceful it was.

IMG_20160506_192333

Back at the suite, my mom and sister headed out to buy some walking shoes for my mom (which they found for only $10!) and returned home with Moose Tracks for dessert. All of us went to bed fairly exhausted that night!

The next morning my sister took Rachel on a walk in the front pack while I savored an uninterrupted time in my Bible. After breakfast, we all took a nice long walk on the beach. The weather was so nice! It looked like rain was coming any minute, yet the sunlight was shining through the clouds in some places and it was comfortably warm.

IMG_20160507_105137

IMG_20160507_110529

IMG_20160507_110343

IMG_20160507_111744

IMG_20160507_111036

IMG_20160507_105717

From the beach, we then headed into Monterey proper to swing by the antique mall one last time and then to fisherman’s wharf to eat lunch. It was fun to eat just above the water! This was our view:

IMG_20160507_130947

And then we began the long trek home. It was a wonderful time of good conversation, prayer, laughter and food (that I didn’t have to cook). I’m so thankful for our time at the coast and the ability to get away.

When I pulled into our driveway, I was warmly greeted by a toddler who was doing his best to jump up and down in excitement to see me and a semi-sick husband who graciously held down the fort in my absence. I am so blessed!

“The sea is His, for He made it, and His hands formed the dry land.”

Psalm 95:5

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

