Sleep, Overrated? I think Not.

Sleep deprivation is a very real thing at our house these days. Looking back, I never thought Josh would be the one keeping me up as he approached his second birthday. He used to be our stellar sleeper. While his little sister snoozes through the night, he’s awake and screeching from his crib, often for hours at a time.

A few nights of this is annoying. But we happen to be going on about a month of nightly crying sessions. Anytime from 12 am to 5 am this little dude can be heard hollering from his crib. I wish I knew what was waking/keeping him up– Teething? A long day time nap? Hunger? Thirst? Too cold or warm? Sadly there never seems to be anything consistent playing into his nocturnal tendencies. So I guess it’s just a phase we must endure.

Parenting is all about endurance, no? I looked at Josh, right after he’d thrown his sixth huge tantrum this morning, and thought “I know they say these years won’t last forever. But right now, it feels like they’re lasting forever.” So we packed up and went on another country drive. While the kids listened to Psalty (1980’s, anyone?) and slept in the car, I put an earbud in and soaked up truth I needed to hear in a sermon about Jesus. Because He really does make everything better. Not easier, but better.

DSC_0013

I’m watching my older sister with her boys — now 13, 11, and 9, and it gives me encouragement to keep going. They are such great kids. I remember my sister having many trying days when her kiddos were little. Times when she would even give herself a “time out” so that she could get back to a place of thankfulness when frustration was creeping in. She put in a lot of hard work (she still does) and long days. But her boys are a treasure– they are gifts from God. And they are a joy to be around.

My sister with her middle child.

My sister with her middle child.

So I’ll press on. I’ll enjoy the fun and tender moments, the smiles and the giggles. I’ll pray for endurance for all the other moments. I’ll go for a country drive if need be. And I’ll thank God that gas is only $1.91 a gallon.

What helps you get through the most trying parts of your day/night?

 

5 Comments

Filed under Motherhood, Toddler, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sleep, Overrated? I think Not.

  1. Tru has went through phases like that with sleep. They do work out eventually but in the meantime I’m always convinced it’s the end of the world and we will never sleep again. It may well be the worst part of parenting for me. I hope he will start sleeping again for you soon and until then, enjoy those country drives. It sounds very soothing.

    And the tantrums…. don’t even get me started!! Tru is doing a lot better but now Levi is just starting…. πŸ˜‰

    • It is hard! I not one of those people that *has* to have a lot of sleep but I sure am a lot less grumpy when I do get sleep. Josh broke out into a rash yesterday and had some swollen lymph nodes– pretty sure he has Fifth’s disease, so maybe that’s why he’s been sleeping so poorly! It sounds like you handle the tantrums better than me… the constancy of them really wears me down!

      • Ha! I definitely don’t handle tantrums that well but you’re free to think I do if you want. πŸ˜‰

        I hope josh gets better quickly. Always so hard when they’re sick but too young to tell us. 😦

      • Well… I guess I just haven’t seen you blog much about tantrums like I have.

      • Lol. Well tru’s tantrums are well known around our friends and family. To the point that my BIL cracks himself up mimicking tru’s fits. And a guy at church said: “Man, you almost made it to the end of church!” because me running out with tru – like literally outside – is so common it often happens several times a service. And we only go to the second half!!! Lol. I’ve said many times that i have never seen a child throw this caliber or quantity of fits. But the tantrums ARE finally lessening, thank God! And tru is learning to control his rage. Also, I’m getting pretty strict about it. Just hang in there! There really is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

