Rachel is 4 Months Old!

Rachel is 4 months old today, and although it’s meltdown time at our home right now I wanted to get this post done before my memory fails to recall the details about her in this age and stage!

IMG_20160104_184411

This little girl is growing like a weed. I weighed her on our home scale the other day and she was 13#8 oz (she was 6#9 oz at birth). It is a joy to see her gaining weight and growing in length. We’ll get an official weight and length next week at her 4 mo. baby check up.

Rachel nurses every 2-3 hours during the day and once at night. I usually put her down to bed around 8 or 9pm, but since I’m planning on going back to work in the evenings soon I’ll need to move it up a bit (she doesn’t take a bottle). She wakes up around 6 or 7 am, nurses, and takes another nap in the baby swing until her next feeding time. I still don’t have her on a nap schedule because she continues to sleep for at least a little bit in between every feeding during the day. Once she starts staying awake between feedings I’ll start her on a nap schedule. She’s getting close to having that happen.

I’m still putting her in the rock n play sleeper at night and she loves that thing. She rarely spits up when she’s in it, which helps her to sleep longer. Also, her pacifier stays put. She’s almost too long for it though (sadness!) so she’ll be transitioned to her crib soon. She occasionally takes naps in her crib during the day.

Following in her brother's footsteps. She loves books already. I find myself sorting through books more than I do baby/toddler clothes.

Following in her brother’s footsteps. She loves books already. I find myself sorting through books more than I do baby/toddler clothes.

She’s out of most of her 3 month clothes. She’s in 3-6 month clothes or 6 month Carter’s clothes. All of her 3 month sleepers are too short. I really need to get her some more winter 6 month basics, like onesies and pants. I’ll probably end up ordering them.

Rachel has nursed like a champ from the beginning. I’m SO relieved about that. I don’t think I have an amazing milk supply or anything, but what she gets seems to go a long way. Breast milk is amazing! (Please don’t feel sad if you are formula feeding — I did 6 months of formula with Josh and he did great with it.) I’m planning to nurse her for a year (that’s my goal). I would be lying if I said I was excited about it– I don’t really mind it, but I will mention that I made a mental note today that we still have 8 months to go. 😉

She is very verbal and loves to “talk” to you when she’s in a happy mood. She squeals with delight sometimes, and it’s soooo cute. She can also scream at the top of her lungs when she is in pain or freaked out by a loud noise. Her biggest nemesis is her tummy — she’s had a lot of gas since birth and it is a major problem whenever I eat something on her “do not eat” list (which consists of broccoli, oatmeal, beans, and trail mix).

Around this time last year was when I was 6 weeks pregnant with her. We thought we were going to lose her when I hemorrhaged and got diagnosed with a subchorionic bleed. How INCREDIBLY blessed we are that she is happily sleeping next to me right now! Thank you God for sparing her life and for allowing us to cherish her in our arms! Her daddy and I often marvel over how fearfully and wonderfully made she is.

Snuggling with Mommy. One of mommy's most favorite parts of the day!

Snuggling with Mommy. One of mommy’s most favorite parts of the day!

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Baby

3 responses to “Rachel is 4 Months Old!

  1. Mammy Shelly

    I’ve had subchorionic bleeding and am currently 25 weeks pregnant so loved reading this post! Beautiful baby!

Leave a Reply

