New Camera Lens

Two years ago I got a nice DSLR camera for Christmas. It was a Nikon D3100 that came in a kit with two lens. I’m embarrassed to say it, but I didn’t learn how to use it much in manual mode like I had wanted to. Part of the reason for this is that my friend Katherine takes awesome pictures, and she pretty much got all the nice portraits that we could ever need or want! Plus, cell phone pics are getting better and better these days.

Anyhow, for Christmas this year I got my first prime lens. I didn’t even know what a prime lens was until Katherine told me about it. She took a lot of our maternity shots with Josh with a prime lens, and I loved how they turned out. One of the great things about a prime lens is that it almost completely eliminates the need for a flash, even when indoors with very low light.

I’ve been experimenting with my prime lens (in case you’re interested, it’s a AF-S Nikkor 35mm) and I’m really enjoying it! Just thought I’d post some pictures below. They’re nothing special, just pics of random objects and my kiddos on any given typical day. Sometimes the less formal pics are the ones I enjoy most.

DSC_0007 DSC_0010 DSC_0005 DSC_0017 DSC_0014 DSC_0045 DSC_0011 DSC_0015 DSC_0032 DSC_0028 DSC_0025 DSC_0019 DSC_0046 DSC_0034 DSC_0040

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Camera Lens

  1. Iya Rai

    Great photos! Congrats on your new lens!

  2. Katherine Owens

    These photos are so beautiful! I’m glad you are enjoying documenting the normal things in life. You won’t regret having those photos when the kids grow up. Love you!

Leave a Reply

