6 Years

Our 6th year anniversary is today.

I always get nostalgic whenever I think back to our days of dating and then engagement. Not that our days are particularly dull now, but life felt like such a wild roller coaster back then.

I always liked my hubby, from the very first time I met him at a Bible study with our church. He was 20 (and I was 23). He was super skinny with curly black hair and talked passionately about math (he was taking ultra hard math classes at the time). That same evening at the Bible study he was asked to share some of his experiences from a recent missions trip to Russia, and he told a hilarious story about how he broke his foot while en route back to the U.S. He was hopping up and down on one leg to get his point across, and the whole room was laughing. This guy is funny and smart, I thought. Although it was just a first impression, I thought he was something special.

visit Isaac Oct_08 010-E

Back then I was a newer nurse and trying to figure out if nursing was what I wanted to do with my life, especially when it meant working nights for several years. I went from working full time to part time so that I could go to Bible college in Southern California. After that I took a leave of absence from work so I could work for 3 months overseas at a medical missions clinic. I would occasionally see him at church and events during the summers and Christmas vacations. To pursue an electrical engineering degree, he had transferred from the local junior college to about 4 hours away to attend Cal Poly. I still had a crush on him, but our life paths were not intertwining much.

A few summers went by and only my two sisters and my friend Nina knew that I liked him. I wasn’t a boy-crazy type of girl at all, but I hoped and prayed that maybe he would take notice of me. It was June of 2008, and after Bible college and living overseas, I was back working full time at the hospital. Life had settled down a bit for me. He was still in college with another year to go to finish his degree. While I happened to be gone one week back packing in Yosemite, my friend Nina prayed about talking to him about me and told the Lord, “If you give me an opportunity at church tonight, I will speak up.”

{Just a side note. If I had known that my friend was ever even thinking about doing this, I would have adamantly said no and begged her not to– because at the time it would have incredibly embarrassed me and because I wanted him to pursue me, not the other way around. I didn’t want our friendship to become awkward. But now that we’ve been married 6 years, I’m thankful to my friend and not embarrassed at all.} 😉

Sure enough, after church that night she was given the opportunity to talk with him alone and basically challenged my guy to consider and pray about me. That was it. He stared at her like a deer caught in the headlights and said he would. He went home, talked with his dad about it, and began to pray.

I’m not sure what exactly was going through my hubby’s head at this point, but I think that after praying about it, his thought was “Why not, and just see how it goes?” This was a big step for him as he hadn’t dated anyone before me.

The very next week I was back from Yosemite and at church with my little sister. A group of us went out afterward to dinner at Mimi’s. When we were done with dinner and Mimi’s had booted us out because it was late and they were closing, just he, my sister and I stood talking outside my car until it was really late. Again, he was hilarious. But from the years I had to observe him and to learn about his family, I knew that he was also a really solid guy. Most importantly he was following the Lord. I felt a twinge of hope, and frankly, surprise.

A few days later I went out on a limb and texted him, asking if he wanted to play ultimate frisbee with some friends that day at a nearby park. It would be an hour drive for him after he got off work from his summer engineering internship, so I figured he wouldn’t come. But he made me feel fabulous for even thinking to invite him. “Are you kidding? Heck yes! I would LOVE to come!!” he responded. He came after work, we played frisbee, and afterward the two of us sat talking with our legs dangling in my parents pool late into the evening once again. The more I got to know him, the better I liked him.

visit Isaac Oct_08 051

Dating. Hanging out at hubby’s college bachelor pad (notice the pool table in the background).

We went on to ‘hang out’ (a term we laugh at now, since we weren’t officially dating and didn’t really know what else to call it) almost daily until the day before he left for school that fall. In the meantime, we had been over to each other’s parents for dinners, he had come to the Fair with my family, and he had even taken me out on a special fancy dinner date with flowers in tow. He took his time to consider and get to know me before asking me to date. I’ve since learned he’s not one to make quick decisions, but he makes good decisions once he’s made up his mind. We agreed to date the day before he left for school.

dating

The day we decided to date. I was headed into work for the night and he was packing up to leave for school the very next day.

We were engaged the following spring on March 30, 2009, and married that August. He loves to say that “I was out of his league” (which is totally bogus) but ultimately he compliments me in the many ways that I am lacking. (And he’s much smarter than me, which is awesome.)

E&I1425c1

August, 2009. Married to my best friend.

Six years have flown by. What a gift this guy is to me. I’m looking forward to many more anniversaries!

 Happy Anniversary to my man. I love you!

3 Comments

Filed under Marriage

3 responses to “6 Years

  1. Anonymous

    Happy anniversary! =D

  2. Happy anniversary! Love how you finally connected

Leave a Reply

