25 Week Update

I’m not sure how I feel about typing up pregnancy updates. I’d much rather write about something {somewhat} thought provoking– something that’s been on my mind and that either needs further evaluation and processing or that’s already composed and coherent. But on the other hand, I just love reading other people’s pregnancy updates. I think it’s really fun and I love to see a belly grow as a new life (or lives!) takes shape and personality. There is so much hope in new life, and in my study of 1 Samuel I have been pondering how God uses new life to bring about change and hope through the babies He promises, often to barren women (Samuel, Isaac, Moses, John, JESUS– just to name a few).

So with great expectations of a new little life hopefully arriving sometime in early October, here goes. A pregnancy update, for those of you who love to read about the smaller details of life. (My husband would last about two sentences into a blog post like this…let’s see if he gets even this far and mentions it to me!)

Baby Growth: Baby is about  1 1/2 pounds and the size of a rutabaga. I have no idea what a rutabaga is, or how big it is. But I know how big most 25 week preemies are, thanks to working in a NICU, and trust me I do not want to see my baby any time soon.

Symptoms: Praise report! I’ve been feeling great! I had 5 consecutive days of constant adhesion pain a while back, and that was a challenge — more emotionally than anything because I feared that it would be ongoing for the rest of the pregnancy. I really had to stop and commit it to the Lord when it was starting to get me down in the evenings. I still get adhesion pain here or there (usually in the evenings) but overall it’s far less painful than last time around! I also have occasional heartburn that I take Zantac for, and that’s been doing the job. Other than that, I’ve been tired, hot, and forgetful. Pretty typical for a summer pregnancy, I suppose!

Weight Gain: At my 24 week appointment I had gained 14 pounds. My OB seemed happy with that. I definitely feel bigger this time around, but I measured right on though at 24 weeks.

Maternity Clothes: Been wearing those exclusively since 14 weeks. As well as my husband’s smaller t-shirts. Do I sound like a spoiled brat if I say that I am already tired of my maternity clothes? Yes. Yes, I do.

Cravings: Dark chocolate and cherries. Man, I love summer cherries! Too bad they’re so expensive. Good thing they’re not in season for very long or we’d go broke.

Food Aversions: Most afternoons/evenings I feel hungry but nothing seems to look that appealing. It makes for a very picky pregnant mama and I get annoyed with myself! Even my 15 month toddler is less picky than I am (pathetic, I know). At least in the mornings I am more agreeable to a larger variety of foods. 😉

Baby Buys: Haven’t bought anything for little girl yet. But I swapped our boy baby clothes with a friend of mine who just had a boy and got all of her baby girl clothes from her toddler who’s grown out of them! My cousin also gave me her newborn girl clothes. So already doing pretty well in the clothes department. We won’t need much stuff — a car seat adapter for the stroller, burp clothes, receiving blankets, and maybe some swaddlepods. It’s so nice to already have so much!

Sleep: Other than heartburn plaguing me in the evenings, sleep has been pretty good.

Other: My wedding ring stopped fitting around 22 weeks, so now I’m wearing my ‘work’ band which is looser. With it being 100F+ outside though I’m not sure how much longer that ring will fit either! Also, lately I feel like I’m in menopause most nights because my feet become blistering hot as soon as I lay down and close my eyes. The other night I seriously considered strapping ice packs to them!

Last but not least, here’s the belly. I try not to shudder at how big it will be by 40 weeks. Gaining weight is always a little scary because one never knows how long it will take to lose it!

25 weeks. I just realized that I am wearing my husband's t-shirts in most of my pregnancy pics. That's the tiredness kicking in!

25 weeks. I just realized that I am wearing my husband’s t-shirts in most of my pregnancy pics. That’s the tiredness kicking in!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Pregnancy

One response to “25 Week Update

  1. I wore DH’s shirts too until I outgrew them…. that was scary lol. But seriously, you look great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

