15 Months {and 22 weeks along}

Life is just truckin’ along. Josh finally got his two molars in that had been plaguing us all for 6 weeks (well, they’re almost all the way in) and he is a much happier camper now! He is back to sleeping through the night and is far less whiny. I’m enjoying the respite before the next set of molars come in. Hopefully we’ll catch a little break!

"Mom, I know I can't swim yet, but I really love to plunge myself head first into the water!"

“Mom, I know I can’t swim yet, but I really love to plunge myself head first into the water!”                   – The stuff parent panic attacks are made from

Josh is almost 15 months now and that kid seems to grow and change daily. It is such a delight to watch him learn and discover new things.

(Sorry if I’ve been typing that repeatedly on every blog post since he was born.)

The latest activities he’s been enjoying have been “swimming” in the baby pool (i.e. splashing crazily until both mommy and daddy are completely soaked and/or flinging himself head first from one side of the little pool to the other) we set up in the backyard (not to mention Grandma and Grandpa’s big pool when we visit).

He’s also been enjoying playing in his new his new toddler room (which was the office/guest room) which will be his new room when the baby comes this October. Since his current room is perfectly set up for a newborn, and also pretty gender neutral, I figured we might as well leave it alone. I went on a marathon shopping trip to Ikea with my mom and used up my entire allowed budget to get him a new crib and mattress (he won’t be ready for a toddler bed for a while since he’s not even walking yet), a new dresser, darkening curtains, some nice toy bins, a picture for the wall, a toy holder and a castle tent to play in. He loves it, and so do I! Little by little we’ll be transferring over his clothes, diapers, wipes and books and get him transitioned to his new room.

Josh's new toddler room. We have fun playing in there!

Josh’s new toddler room. We have fun playing in there! (On a side note, to save money, I bought one of the cheaper dressers at Ikea but had my hubby drill holes and apply knobs to spruce it up.)

In the meantime, we’ve been clearing out the closet in his toddler room (which had our printer, office and wrapping supplies, as well as vacuum, broom, etc) and somehow it has led to a major reorganization of every storage area in our entire house. I’ve been discovering things like FOUR sets of curtains in my linen cabinet that will never work for this house, extra fabric, clothes and shoes we never wear and just lots of things we need to get rid of. So it’s been a good process but also an exhausting one. Additionally, hubby decided that the one drawer he got in our dresser wasn’t working for him (can’t imagine why? I had the other five drawers — ridiculous, I know!) so we are in the process of selling the beloved dresser (that I worked so hard to paint and fix up back in January) and plan to get a bigger one… you know, so that hubby can have more than his one token drawer.

Goodbye, beloved dresser. I'm going to miss you.

Goodbye, beloved dresser. I’m going to miss you.

As for pregnancy, I’m 22 weeks and starting to feel huge. I mean it this time. I looked back on my blog and saw that I look the same as I did when I was 30 weeks with Josh. Not taking any pictures because I keep thinking it’s some sort of fluke and that tomorrow I’ll look like a normal 22-week-pregnant person (I had hoped for that this morning, but sadly it didn’t happen). My hubby said, “Well, at least we know our baby will be healthy!” (Code for ‘big’ in husband-speak.) I had to laugh. Josh was 6 pounds 13 ounces, and after all, I did tell him that I  had hoped to have a bigger baby this time around. I like to have some wiggle room weight-wise with newborns, especially during those few days that I’m waiting for my milk to come in.

I lied. I took a picture after all. For all the fuss I just made, I promise I look bigger than this in person. 22 weeks.

I lied. I took a picture after all. For all the fuss I just made, I promise I look bigger than this in person. 22 weeks 3 days.

So for now, other than trying to hide the fact that I am only 22 weeks along to unsuspecting people, we are in a good place! And– up to today, I have only had FOUR days of pain this entire pregnancy. It’s astounding to me! By this point last time I was having a lot of trouble moving or crossing my legs and rolling over without significant pain. And I remembered that by 27 weeks I was already making trips to L&D for intense stabbing pain! (I had to read back on my blog for that info also.) This time around I feel great. I do have some heartburn in the evenings, but if I treat it prophylactically with Zantac it isn’t much at all and doesn’t disturb my sleep. Also, avoiding greasy foods really seems to help, as well as eating smaller dinners. I also gave up coffee completely several weeks ago after experiencing two days of crushing chest pain following a large decaf coffee drink. I think being coffee-free has helped tremendously on cutting back the heartburn. To help myself stay remain resolved, I lent my amazing Keurig espresso maker/milk frother to my sister. She is happily enjoying it, and gets to keep it until the baby comes. After that I definitely will be wanting it back! Helloooo long, sleepless nights! (While getting to snuggle with an adorable baby, of course.) 🙂

This is a lousy picture but I love the expression on Josh's face. :)

I’ll leave you with this one last picture. Lousy quality, but I love the expression on Josh’s face as he’s on his way to pretend-tackle his mommy. 😉

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Pain, Pregnancy, Toddler

3 responses to “15 Months {and 22 weeks along}

  1. You look amazing!!!!! In my experience as a doula/mom, you always seem to “pop” sooner, but I feel like we usually end up the same size by the end. I’ll be curious if that is the same for me if we have another 🙂 I’m so glad you are getting a break from teething…we are in thick of it off and on…hugs!

    • That is good to know! I didn’t pop as early as I thought I would (maybe 13-14 weeks?) but then got huge all of the sudden. I’ve heard that having babies close together can do that because your abdominal muscles are still kind of non-existent (mine definitely are!). I guess regardless of whether big or small, people will always comment!

      Can’t wait to read on your blog that you are pregnant with #2. 🙂 And hang in there with the teething… it can feel like a marathon at times! Hugs to you too!

Leave a Reply

