Toddlerhood and 16 Weeks

There’s not a lot happening these days. So far, this pregnancy has been a breeze (minus the subchorionic hematoma) compared to my pregnancy with Josh. I’ll be 16 weeks tomorrow, and I can’t believe how fast it’s going by. I read back on my blog and was shocked to see that I was already starting to have chronic pain by 12 weeks last time. No pain this time around!

Here's my almost 16 week belly. This was a morning shot; it looks a lot bigger by the evening!

Here’s my almost 16 week belly. This was a morning shot; it looks a lot bigger by the evening!

Chasing after Josh has been good for my body in that my back/upper body  is much stronger now. I’m grateful that I can vacuum, move furniture, and carry Josh around with no pain.

I have no idea if things are okay with baby #2, but I think I’ve been feeling flutters and also I have an OB appt tomorrow, so it will be a relief to hear the baby’s heartbeat. My belly’s been growing bigger, so I guess that’s another sign that things are alright. I’ll be glad when I can feel the baby kicking on a regular basis!

Things with Josh have taken a huge turn. My easy going baby has become a defiant and opinionated toddler. He screams when he doesn’t get his way and will occasionally throw himself on the floor in glorious tantrum fashion. There have been some long, trying days– days where anything I do provokes him to a screeching rage. But there are lots of good and fun times with him as well. He’s become a bit more unpredictable as well and sometimes he’ll have a huge meltdown over something that I can’t for the life of me figure the cause. It’s exhausting, fun, wearing and entertaining all at once. There was a day this week I cried tears of frustration when dealing with his 30th tantrum by 6pm, and yet much laughter and joy at seeing him delight in discovering new things.

Wouldn't you believe this adorable little boy had just thrown a tantrum over being put in his car seat? ;)

Would you believe this adorable little boy had just thrown a tantrum over being put in his car seat? (Mommy has learned that snacks go a long way.) 😉

He’s crawling and cruising around everywhere, and just waiting for me to turn my head so that he can get into something that he’s not supposed to be. He’s rather skilled in that area!

I find myself desperate for wisdom and patience these days, and asking God for it often. So many times I have thought about how motherhood has not only taught me a lot about God, but propelled me towards Him like a speeding bullet. I see my desperate need for a Savior in just my flawed parenting alone. So many times I have prayed out loud “Lord, help me… please give me patience for this little boy that I love so much.” What’s so neat is that I see the Lord deliver those fruits of the Spirit that I ask Him for. He has given me patience at times when I was crazy sleep deprived and should have been an impatient grump. But somehow the Spirit enabled me to be otherwise.

So it’s not much, but that’s the news around here. Each phase of life seems to have it’s way of bringing me to my knees. Thankfully I serve this kind of God:

He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young.

Isaiah 40:11, ESV

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Pain, Pregnancy, Toddler

Leave a Reply

