10 Months

Josh’s passed the 10 month mark a few weeks ago, so I figured I’d better get this update out before I forget what’s happened this month!

It’s been a busy month. My mom broke her leg and ended up needing surgery the same week to secure the broken bone. She’s able to hop around a little and even recently drove herself to work, but there are still many things she cannot do. So we’ve been making trips to my parents house to help out when we can.

All three of us got sick with a nasty cold earlier this month, and I think it hit me the hardest. It’s been over 3 weeks and I still have a sore throat. Josh got a nasty cough that lasted for about two weeks. Except for my sore throat we are all better, thankfully!

We also refinished two pieces of furniture, which was a blast! Check out my blog posts on the dresser and the coffee table makeovers if you’re interested.

This month, Josh has slowly been turning more and more into a toddler. (Mind you, he’s still not crawling, although he does this funny shuffle-crawl.) My easy going boy is a bit more demanding these days. He throws a mini tantrum whenever I take something away from him, and he waves his arms and squawks loudly when he is ‘displeased.’ When he’s in his walker, he’s a little maniac, running around and banging into walls, or racing off to something he knows he can’t touch (like the oven). It’s pretty amusing.

"Mom, why won't this door open?"

“Mom, why won’t this door open?”

We do in fact provide him with real toys. But loves the non-toys most. Like this nasty bulb syringe.

We do in fact provide him with real toys, but he loves the non-toys most. Like this nasty bulb syringe.

He still continues to have a longer attention span than me, and loves touching different textures. He’s been obsessed with that for several months now. He likes to see how things work. For instance, out of the huge pile of toys in the living room, his favorite thing is the clasp on a toy box we have. We find him lifting the latch up and down and inspecting it from all sorts of angles. And in his crib, there are these little silky ties that secure the crib bumpers to the crib. I’ve double and even triple knotted those things and he always finds a way to untie them.

DSC_0070

And, as you can see from the picture below, he is not playing with the toy below but rather inspecting the bottom of it. I wonder if this kid is going to grow up to be a mechanical engineer or something?

IMG_20150110_154740

His front top two teeth came in over the last month. Teething for Josh isn’t too awfully bad — a few doses of Tylenol or Ibuprofen here or there, but generally he tends to sleep and eat well through it. I’m really thankful for that!

You can kind of see his upper teeth here.

You can kind of see one of his upper teeth here.

He’s transitioned to wanting only almost all finger foods this week. I love it because (even if it is terribly messy) I don’t have to sit there and shove food in his mouth and he can eat it at his own pace. He loves it! He gets everything from quinoa to avocados to meatballs to bananas to fried eggs to cheerios. Overall I’m just glad he’s not a picky eater. If he’s fairly hungry, he’ll still let me spoon feed him baby food too. So we’ve got options, which is really nice.

Sometimes when the lighting looks good I'll go and grab my camera. This is just a random "good lighting" pic, nothing more.

Sometimes when the lighting looks good I’ll go and grab my camera. This is just a random “good lighting” pic.

There’s a measles epidemic in California right now which has me a little worried since Josh won’t be able to get his MMR until he’s a year old. The Measles is so incredibly contagious. There’s only a few cases in our area for now, and I’m hoping it stays that way!

I’m really looking forward to transitioning Josh to cow’s milk in a month or two. We are both really over formula. And he just doesn’t really like it — to the point where I really have to cajole him (translation: sing ‘The Wheels on the Bus’ over and over and over….) into taking enough to stay hydrated. He also doesn’t like water too much either, and will never take more than 1/2 oz at a time. He still has really wet diapers so I’m not worrying about it, but at the same time it would be nice if he just guzzled down his beverage for once!

Another reason he doesn't drink much water: The sippy cup is just SO INTERESTING and a huge distraction for him.

Another reason he doesn’t drink much water: Every sippy cup is just SO INTERESTING and a huge distraction for him.

He still naps pretty well, and takes two naps a day. He’ll nap anywhere from 1-3 hours a nap. His naps seems to be getting shorter later, which is nice. He goes to bed usually between 6:30-7 pm and wakes up between 7-7:30 am. And yes, I still give him a bottle every night. He usually guzzles down 6 oz. If only he drank more during the day…

All in all, things are going pretty well. We just love this little guy to pieces and love to watch him learn and grow.

Josh with my mom the first day she broke her leg.

Josh with my mom the first day she broke her leg.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby

One response to “10 Months

  1. I love seeing your little guy grow. It is amazing to me what interests them in their new worlds…almost always not the actual toys. Big hugs to you friend!

Leave a Reply

