Dresser Makeover

I have a confession to make.

I LOVE furniture makeovers. When I’m in the middle of a project, I  wake up in the morning excited to get started on it. I’ll check my weather app on my phone: “Is it 50F outside yet or is it still too cold to paint? When can I get started?” It’s really turning into a hobby for me these days.

As for furniture building, we do have a little history together.

When I was in high school my Grandma bought me this old ugly wooden chest with a beautiful cedar interior that she intended for me to use as my hope chest. We sanded it down, stained and sealed it with polyurethane, and then added some legs to it that I picked out at the hardware store. I was 18 then, but I was absolutely enthralled with how it turned out. We had taken something fairly ugly and made it beautiful in my eyes. The chest still sits in our bedroom today. I will never get rid of this piece of furniture because of the memories I have from transforming it with my Grandma (she passed away when I was 23).

My hope chest. (My husband loves to store his clothes on top of it now.)

My hope chest, with the lid a little propped open from too many things jammed inside it. (My husband loves to store his clothes on top of it now.)

When I went away to college, I had need for a bookshelf and a small kitchen table. My Grandma was pretty sick then, so this time my Grandpa helped me build both a bookshelf and a table using the same stain combo we used to match the hope chest. The table is dismantled and it lives in our rafters now (it only seats 4 people — it’s more like an apartment sized table) and the bookshelf lives in my little sister’s living room (since the house we bought a few years ago had a giant whole-wall bookshelf already built in). I had to dig around a little to find some pictures of both the shelf and table… they aren’t the best quality but here you go:

I spent half a lifetime digging this picture up from the recesses of my computer brain. This was our first apartment we lived in when we got married. It was pretty ugly, but I did like our table. :)

I spent half a lifetime finding this picture in the recesses of my computer brain. This was our first apartment we lived in when we got married. It was pretty ugly, but I did like our table.

This is really the only picture I could find, and it's a terrible one. It's just a basic bookshelf, except that I added moulding on the top and bottom to make it a little fancier (please ignore the hideous sofa that we had to beg some poor college student to take it away for free...).

This is really the only picture I could find with the bookshelf in it, and it’s a terrible one. It’s just a basic bookshelf, except that I added molding on the top and bottom to make it a little fancier (please ignore the hideous sofa that we had to beg some poor college student to take away for free…).

The last time I built something, or even refinished something, was a few years ago when I used a gel stain to refinish our bathroom cabinets (but that’s a whole post in itself). So I’ve was missing my little hobby. When some friends of ours kindly gave us a dresser, I stared at that dresser for a few years to see what I could do to it to help it match the decor in our room a little better. This was the dresser:

Dresser pre-makeover

Dresser: Before

It’s a nice dresser, but I didn’t really love the hardware on it, and we didn’t have any other furniture in that stain color. I began reading Virginia’s DIY furniture makeover blog and saw that she had great ideas for using all kinds of paint. Her furniture looked spectacular! So I followed her tutorial for her dresser (read about it specifically here) and this is what I came up with:

The finished product.

Dresser: After.

Since the dresser was laminate, I used a Zinsser primer which worked like a charm. I then spent $3 on a Behr paint sample at Home Depot and put on two coats with that single sample can of paint. The color I chose was Provence Blue. I then sealed it two coats of Minwax’s polycrylic– which was easy to use, low odor, and fast drying.

The hardware was important to me as I felt it would really make the dresser stand out a bit more. I went to the hardware store and looked around, and basically discovered that the pieces I liked were around $4 each. With ten pieces to buy, that was too expensive for my budget. So instead, I found a knob for $1.30/piece that was just the wrong color for my tastes, paid $5 for a can of Rustoleum spray paint (also Virginia’s idea) and painted them all. They were bronze and I painted them silver.

I spray painted the knobs to make them silver.

I spray painted the knobs to make them silver.

My hubby had to drill new holes for the new hardware and patch the old holes from the old hardware (the patching was the very first step). He put on the new knobs,  and now I was thrilled with the final results!

IMG_20150119_114134~2

IMG_20150119_114104~2

All in all, this dresser makeover cost about $50. It would have been cheaper if it didn’t need to have the old hardware holes filled — the stuff my husband bought to seal the holes (I can’t remember what he used, sorry) was NOT cheap! The primer and polycrylic were a little pricey but even the smallest containers of it will last for at least one or two more projects. In fact, the primer alone would last for several projects. The cheapest part was the paint itself. Ironic, isn’t it?

So that’s the story with the dresser. Next time I’ll blog on the coffee table. It’s currently in the garage awaiting it’s next coat of paint. Gotta get to it before the little buddy wakes up from his nap. See you next time!

3 Comments

Filed under DIY, Furniture Makeover

3 responses to “Dresser Makeover

  1. Dresser looks awesome!! I love the color. 😊 im working on a coffee table

  2. Thanks! Hope your coffee table turns out well!

  3. Pingback: 10 Months | mercynew

Leave a Reply

