We Made it to 6 Months!

Josh turned 6 months old last week!

Life with an infant has gone from being incredibly hard (the first 6 weeks– COLIC!) to seeing some glimpses of hope for better sleep in the future (3-4 months) to now daily routines and schedules. Life finally feels like there is some cadence to it. Feeding times, naps, and night time have smoothed out tremendously in the last few weeks. I don’t know if this has to do with introducing solids (which happened at 5 months) or switching over to formula (which happened just prior to 6 months) or if it’s just that he’s 6 months now, and this is what babies do at 6 months. Whatever, the reason, I’m really enjoying these days (and especially the better sleep)!

Josh gets a bottle usually at 8 am, 12 pm, 4 pm and right before bedtime–usually around 6:30-7 pm. He also gets a bottle in the middle of the night, which is anywhere from 1-4:30 am. I would try to cut that one out but he’s taking usually 5 oz, which tells me he’s hungry! I give him solids 3x/day, oatmeal (mixed with frozen breast milk), a veggie/meat combo for lunch, and a fruit/veggie combo at dinner. I space out his meals so that he’s getting solids in between his bottles. Lately I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect bib because the soft plastic ones I bought at Babies R Us just weren’t doing the job (I figure that if I have to change his outfit after he eats, the bib is failing us!). I ordered some silicone ones from Amazon; hopefully they’ll come soon and we can try them out.

Josh seems to be growing like a weed lately and just yesterday I noticed that he seemed to be taking up the entire changing table! When did that happen? He’s growing out of most of his 3-6 month clothes and his 6 month sleepers are getting tight. 9 month sleepers, I discovered, are still too big and he just lies in his crib (instead of sleeping) and chews on them since they’re so big. I need to get some 6-9 month sleepers soon.

He’s loving mainly his Jumparoo and walker right now. I’m really wanting to build a swing set in the back yard and put up one of those infant swings. We don’t have any swing-worthy trees in our smallish backyard, so last night I talked with hubby about building the swing set. We went outside and brainstormed for a while — we’ll have to remove a deck that we have (that is pretty much not doing anything other than threatening to rot) and clear out some rocks, but other than that I don’t think it’ll be too difficult to do (which is easy for me to say since it’ll be my husband doing most of it).

Josh’s other favorite thing to do is to read. He LOVES books! All kinds. I probably read to him about 20 books a day. I also have him lay on a blanket and play with a few toys while I read to him from an old chapter book written in the 1920’s called Milly-Molly-Mandy that my sister loaned me. I wasn’t sure if he’d like it but he looks at the pictures and listens quietly while I read a few chapters a day. What a kid. I was telling my mother in law that he’s definitely his father’s child — when I was young I could barely sit still for anything and just wanted to be outside running around and playing. My husband loved to be indoors reading whatever books he could get his hands on.

The best part of this 6 months stage is the better sleep. We put Josh down around 7 pm and usually don’t hear a peep out of him until the early/later morning. He rarely cries when I put him down, also. I’ve gotten more sleep in the last 2 weeks than I think I have in probably the first 3 months.

There are some things we are working on. We had a disastrous trip to the mountains a few weeks ago because Mr. Josh refused to sleep in his new port a crib. It was so bad that we just ended up packing up and coming home at 4 am! (Mainly due to me– I had only gotten 4 hours of sleep the night before and hadn’t slept AT ALL that night = one wreck of a mama). So now I’m making him take naps in it. So far, so good. Soon I’ll be putting him in it at bedtime and I’ll alternate it with his crib for sleep at night. Maybe I’ll put the port a crib in different rooms of the house too so that he can really get used to being in different places during various times of the day.

He had his vaccines last Friday and I was so nervous that we were in for a horrible time after (like what happened after his 4 month vaccines–screaming for 2 hours no matter what we did, and WITH Tylenol on board). But when I asked the nurse giving the shots if there was a Rotovirus vaccine included, she said that he was all done with those. I had really felt that his discomfort before seemed to be gut-related, so I felt some hope at the time that he would do better this time. Surprisingly, he cried less than he ever had previously with vaccines, and was happy as a clam after. I panicked once at home and gave him Ibuprofen (which he can have now that he’s 6 months) even though he seemed fine — if you had been here after his 4 month vaccines you would understand! But there was no screaming for hours later on in the evening, and in fact he looked happier than ever. Hooray! He slept great that night also.

As far as growth percentages go, nothing’s really changed! 85% for head, 50% for height, and 15% for weight. As you can see below he really hated being on the cold scale when he got weighed at the Pediatrician’s office.

IMG_20140918_145018

 

And here are a few more pictures. Please excuse the pacifiers. The kid drools about ten gallons a day, and having his pacifier in cuts down on the amount of bib and outfit changes I have to make due to sopping wet, drool-soaked clothes! Hope you enjoy the upcoming weekend!

IMG_20140917_160514

IMG_20140917_160531

IMG_20140918_145307

3 Comments

Filed under Baby

3 responses to “We Made it to 6 Months!

  1. Anonymous

    You look happy, Emily. 🙂

  2. Such a handsome baby – binky and all. 🙂

  3. Love! We still don’t really have a routine, but your post gives me hope that one is coming! He is adorable as ever 🙂 Big hugs to you, friend!

Leave a Reply

