5 Months!

Josh turned 5 months this week! I can’t believe how fast time is flying by! Here’s a little (or not so little) update of what’s been happening:

Eating Habits: The biggest news with Josh is that he started solid foods. So far he’s gotten rice and oatmeal cereal mixed with pumped milk. He doesn’t act like he loves it but he opens his mouth widely when the spoon approaches his face each time and gums it right down. It’ll be fun to try some avocado or pear and see if he likes the different flavors a bit more. He nurses every 3-3.5 hours with the exceptions of an extra feeding at bedtime and also somewhere in the middle of the night.

I made what appeared to be a rookie mom mistake and gave Josh a new pacifier about a month ago. We had lost a pacifier somewhere in our house and left one at my parent’s house as well. I happened to have a bunch of the Nuk kind so I switched from the Soothie pacifier to that, thinking I’d alternate to whatever was closest or most convient. Low and behold, a few weeks later I discovered that Josh was rejecting the bottle (we had been using the Dr. Brown). Unfortunately, we discovered this one evening when I was at work and the little guy went without two feedings (poor Daddy) and cried on and off for over 3 hours. In fact, he didn’t fall asleep until 10:30 pm. I knew what was happening at home while I was at work and felt pretty stressed about the situation. We couldn’t figure out if it was my milk (he also tried formula), or the bottle, or because it wasn’t ‘me’ putting him down to bed, or what. I got home around 1:30 am (sometimes they let me work strange hours at the hospital) and Josh nursed well and took a little from a bottle as well. But it was apparent that he was not loving the bottle. It was more of a fight than anything to get him to take it. When I tried to get him to take the old pacifier, he squished it around in his mouth and then spit it out. Then I thought that maybe I’d pick up a Nuk bottle, since the nipple was similarly shaped to their pacifier. I picked one up and to my great relief, bingo! He took it without a hitch. So, lesson learned: If we ever have another child, I will NOT be switching up their pacifier to a different brand!

Sleeping Habits: Josh usually goes down around 7-7:30 pm and gets up around 7-8 am. We’re just coming out of a rough sleeping patch with this kiddo. I’m learning over and over again that teething really ruins all previous sleep patterns. It’s been rough at times! Recently with the addition of solid foods at dinner, I’ve dropped his 10 pm feeding. He wakes up typically anywhere from midnight to 3:30 am for an additional feeding. (He sometimes wakes up at other times too but gets his pacifier instead). Occasionally the kid just wants to play in the middle of the night but thankfully he usually goes back to sleep without too much fuss (unless he’s teething).

Growth/Clothes/Diapers: He’s been growing like a weed lately! Seriously though– yesterday when I got him up in the morning his pajamas looked tight on his feet, and they weren’t the evening before! He can still wear some 3 month onesies, but is generally wearing 3-6 month clothes. Size 6 months pajamas. He’s in size 2 diapers and I think next time I pick up more diapers up I’ll get size 3’s. It seemed like he was in size 1’s for forever and now he’s just speeding ahead…

Development: Josh is getting close to being able to roll from his back to his tummy. So far he rolls on his side and stays there for a bit until going back onto his back. He’s got the tummy to back roll nailed. He loves the jumparoo but hasn’t figured out how to actually jump yet. He’s growing pretty bored with the swing, unless he’s ready for a nap. He can almost sit up on his own but I think it’ll be another couple of weeks at least until he’s mastered that. He’s learning all kinds of new noises to make as well. Lately he’s discovered my face and likes to touch it. He’s also reaching out for things more and more, and has discovered his feet. Last of all, the kid has learned to scream. As in, the “I hope the neighbors don’t call CPS on us” kind of scream. I’m really hoping it’s just a phase (a very short phase).

Likes: This kiddo is still obsessed with his hands. He’s constantly jabbing his fists in his mouth and gnawing on them. Or gnawing on one finger, two fingers, four fingers, his thumb…he also makes himself gag on a regular basis from jabbing his fingers so far back in his throat. As much as he likes his hands, he also likes his pacifier, and he chews on his bib with regularity. He loves his play mat and the jumparoo. He loves to be carried around and watches everything I do with a keen interest. He also likes being in the car and getting up from a nap (it’s the time of the day when I get the biggest grins from him!). He also loves books and looks at each page with interest.

Dislikes: He doesn’t like teething toys very much, especially ones that are chilled. He doesn’t like being overtired and he still hates loud noises. He also doesn’t like waiting for his milk. 🙂

IMG_20140814_111321

On the play mat… his favorite place to be in the morning.

 

 

Looking very serious here... a common occurrence from this kiddo.

Looking very serious here… a common occurrence from this kiddo.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby

2 responses to “5 Months!

  1. Love this kid and you are doing a great job! I’m envious of his night sleep, but perhaps we are headed that way soon. I think she is sleeping less since I went back to work, so hopefully that corrects itself as she gets used to a new routine. Big hugs to you!

    • New routines are hard! And please don’t be too envious of Josh’s sleep… He woke up so many times last night I must count! But I would say overall things got better at 5 months. My friend tells me her baby is sleeping much better now that she’s 6 months. So there is hope! Big hugs to you friend!

Leave a Reply

