New Mommy Revelations

I wrote a post a while back on my newly founded pregnancy revelations. I was pretty surprised then how much pregnancy changed just about everything in my life. But I’m discovering that being a new mommy changes you — and life all around you — even more. Here’s what I’ve learned so far (and I’m sure there will be many more revelations to come!):

1. Postpartum pain. In one word: OUCH! I was totally not prepared for the level of pain I’d be in after having Joshua. I’m not sure what delusional planet I was living on when I thought I’d be “sore” for a few days after giving birth. After sixteen days of the same level of pain never waning, I’d was seriously wondering if I was ever going to feel ‘normal’ again. But then (miraculously) on day 17, the pain was gone. Vanished. I went from not being able to stand for more than 5 minutes at a time to feeling like a million bucks. I’m so happy to be without pain for the first time in several months! (Stay posted for more on that in the future.)

Everything about this little baby is contributing to chronic pain amnesia-- now that I'm feeling great and loving hanging out with this little guy I feel ready to do it all over again. Tell me I'm crazy!

Everything about this little baby is contributing to chronic pain amnesia– now that I’m feeling great and loving hanging out with this little guy I feel ready to do it all over again. Tell me I’m crazy!

2. Nursing. In the beginning, this turned out to be every bit as challenging as I thought it would be. However, the bonding time I get with Joshua during nursing is off-the-charts special. The more I think about my body and a baby’s need to nurse every couple of hours, the more I am in awe of God’s design and the way a newborn baby is so carefully cocooned and protected in his mother’s arms while nursing. It’s amazing.

Snuggle time after nursing. I spend a lot of time in that rocking chair! (Lovingly given to us by my parents and older sister.)

Snuggle time after nursing. I spend a lot of time in that rocking chair! (Lovingly given to us by my parents and older sister.)

3. Sleep. After working night shift, I wondered which would be harder for me: Staying up working all night (and sleeping all day) or taking care of a newborn day in, day out. I have to say, I’m still not sure of the answer. I usually felt like puking by the end of a 7 am shift, because I was so exhausted. I never feel like that now. However, there is a total weariness that comes with need to feed a newborn every.three.hours for days on end. Because I’m solely breast feeding, that means the most sleep I get at any given time is 3.5 hours (that’s only if he makes it sleeping for 4 hours at night time… which occurs most nights now that he’s getting a little older). But I’m not complaining, because I get to play and cuddle with my own precious baby, and it’s completely worth it.

I took this sometime in the middle of the night. Sweet sleep for baby, not so much for mama.

I took this some time in the middle of the night. Sweet sleep for baby, not so much for mama.

4. Tears. This time, I’m not talking about tears of frustration or tears of pain. I’m talking about tears of sheer gratitude and joy. I could blame it on the postpartum hormones (or lack thereof). But I won’t, because I don’t want to make light of plain thankfulness.

Yes, I think I shed a few tears when I saw Joshua look up a gaze at his daddy like that. So sweet.

Yes, I think I shed a few tears when I saw Joshua look up a gaze at his daddy like that. So sweet.

5. Amusement. Amused with daddy. He’s such an amazing daddy! And the stories he tells Joshua — oh my, I am often bent over in laughter. He’s so involved and devoted to our little son. I can’t wait to watch them grow together.

Joshua enjoying his 'independent play time.' He usually lasts anywhere from 10-30 minutes at it.

Joshua enjoying his ‘independent play time.’ He usually lasts anywhere from 10-30 minutes looking at his books and toys.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Pain, Pregnancy

2 responses to “New Mommy Revelations

  1. aw i remember truett being tiny enough to wear that little stripped dog shirt. (he had one too). joshua is so adorable! sounds like you have a very contented and happy baby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

