Almost 38 Weeks

I am exhausted. After days and days (weeks, really) of contractions keeping me up during the night, sleep has become a rare occurrence for me around here. Enter also severe heartburn the past few days and a general loss of appetite… as well as general malaise, and you have one tired (and admittedly: somewhat miserable) pregnant lady.

But I know the days are numbered until we get to meet our little boy. And does it ever help! šŸ™‚ I’m still praying he’ll come on his own a little before his induction date. I admit I’m a little nervous about pitocin.

Tomorrow, if it’s not raining, my friend is going to take some maternity pictures. I’ll be one day away from 38 weeks (think– HUGE) so I guess it’s a little late in the game, but better late than never. Another friend told me that most people get their maternity pics done between 32-36 weeks. What I really want are newborn pictures so I guess getting maternity pics never entered my mind until my friend mentioned that she really wanted to take some for me (she’s a good friend). If it’s not raining and we get the pics taken, I’ll post some on here later on.

Not much else is new, other than that my older sister who lives in an extremely remote location overseas is currently at a more populated location for a few weeks. We are able to talk often through Google Voice for CHEAP! We’ll get to video skype with her too when the baby comes (which isn’t something they can do normally). So, even though she can’t be here for our son’s birth, I’m thankful that at least she’ll get to see him live.

Well, the contractions keep coming but I’m going to try to get some sleep. I really shouldn’t try to blog when I’m feeling this groggy!

Good night!

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Almost 38 Weeks

  1. How many weeks have you been having contractions? I haven’t had a single one, which worries me a bit since I am also facing Pitocin. At least your body is prepping! Still, I’m sorry that you are so uncomfortable šŸ˜¦

    Other than sleepy, how are doing feeling prepared for a baby? Somehow the reality of “she is really about to arrive” is setting in. I’m super excited, but also a bit, well, unsure. No one can really tell you what to expect, etc.

    Hoping your last week or so goes more smoothly and the pain lessens. Hugs!

    • Hi Lauren! I’ve been having contractions for 3 weeks now… So since I was 35 weeks. But so far they are helping to move baby down… nothing else as far as cervical change/effacement. (We’ll see if that’s changed at my appt on Monday). My only concern with the pitocin is that the contractions are usually more intense and from everything I’ve read/heard, it’s pretty hard to make it through without an epidural. Epidurals are awesome except that in some people they drop your blood pressure which in turn can cause baby to go into distress (which can mean a c section). So… These are all things that “may” go wrong but we’ll just have to pray and trust the Lord to guide us both through it and to keep watch over out little ones! And I have to remember… People get induced all the time… even at 37 weeks, with zero complications. šŸ™‚
      I do feel completely ready for baby to come, and if I forgot something major… Well I guess we’ll have to figure it out when the time comes, lol!
      Your maternity pic was super cute! Love your bump! So incredibly thankful to the Lord that you have made it this far.
      Hugs to you too,
      Emily

  2. I am praying you won’t have to be induced. I heard pitocin can be rough :(. I can’t wait to see your pictures:).

Leave a Reply

