Highs & the Lows of The Week

Oh, what a week it’s been.

The week started off with finding out that hubby may be getting laid off from his job. Yikes! We had heard that his company was making 5% cuts to the workforce, then 15% to his particular work group. That was Monday. He told me this during a quick dinner at home before he had to run off to his men’s group at church. After he left I felt some anxiety over the situation, so I did two things: I emailed my older sister and asked her to start praying and then I did the same. And almost immediately, the Lord gave me peace. I could tell the Lord was doing something good through this, like working some sort of self-reliance and sin out of my heart. We waited to hear more about the job situation.

My mom came over Tuesday for a visit and what a wonderful day it was! I wasn’t feeling great but was well enough to do some little things. She bought me some flowers for my front yard which she planted, and pruned away all the “mostly” dead plants that never got any TLC during the cold weeks we had back in December. I love beauty, and I love flowers! Even just a few colorful flowers really brings a smile to my face. My mom also worked on crocheting a hat for our son that matched exactly the outfit I have picked out for his homecoming from the hospital. Best of all, I really enjoyed our conversation and distraction from pain. Her visit was such a blessing. She even brought me a mocha!

Now for the lows of the week– I just wrote out some very long paragraphs describing what that was like and decided that it was way too verbose and a little boring to read about. So I will summarize and just give you the main points:

– I came down with intense upper abdominal pain with pain radiating to my mid-upper back on Tuesday afternoon, just a few short hours after my mom left from her visit.

-The pain worsened for several hours and I went to L&D the following evening after barely eating or sleeping in 28 hours. I had hedged my bets that I was either experiencing a gall bladder attack of some sort of gastritis. I’ve had gastritis in the past, however, and it felt nothing like this. But if there’s anything I’ve learned so far, it’s that pregnancy changes pain locations and intensity.

-The L&D doctor offered me IV fluids and morphine. I politely declined the IV (since I could swallow and wasn’t feeling nauseous) and asked for Tylenol with codeine instead of morphine. He agreed. Labs then came back saying that my liver and gall bladder looked just fine.

-The doctor sent me home saying that it was probably a “gall bladder spasm” and that there was nothing much else to be done. {Insert Sigh.}

-In the morning, after barely sleeping due to pain, I got up and ate some breakfast and drank some fluids. An hour later I nearly fainted. I called my OB and she ordered me an ultrasound that day for my liver/gall bladder/right kidney. Thankfully, because hubby was slammed at work with 5 meetings, my dad offered to come over and hang out with me. I rest a lot on the couch while we chatted. While I took a nap, he looked at our car which may have a head gasket problem. He then drove me to my ultrasound appointment, which was a huge blessing.

-My OB called 2 hours later and told me that my ultrasound results were, once again, *perfect.* Which is great news! (And also extremely frustrating and also confusing.) She told me that it was probably just acute gastritis. It doesn’t add up in my mind, as eating/not eating didn’t seem to affect the pain level and I didn’t have any nausea or heartburn. At the same time, the pain was lessening at that point… which definitely helped my frame of mind and level of frustration.

And now– back to the highs for the week: This morning I woke up feeling tons better. Still some upper abdominal pain but nothing compared to what it was. And I had some energy, too! I even met up with my coworker who gave me several nice baby items that she wasn’t using anymore– including a car seat, stroller, breast pump (the really nice kind!), and a soft infant seat. Talk about awesome!

Best of all, my husband texted me saying that he was going to be transferred to another department at work doing software instead of hardware (software is his true love and we’ve praying for an opportunity like this for quite a while). Additionally, he found out that the new department he’s transferring to is extremely unlikely to have any layoffs! Hooray!

So there you have it. A roller coaster of a week. But ending on a such high note! Thank you Jesus!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pain, Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

