Pain Update and Fall Happenings

It’s been a long night of lying awake. At 4am I finally got up and decided to make some apple sauce in the crock pot with some leftover apples I had. Even if I’m tired, it’s nice to smell the apples simmering in the sugar and cinnamon. A perfect fall treat! And I thought I’d give an update from my appointment with my OB yesterday.

Things are still much unchanged. I called the nurse with the women’s health department on Wednesday and ran the symptoms I’d been experiencing the last month by her. She didn’t think they sounded normal and said she’d email my OB and get back to me. The next day, my OB called and we went through the symptoms again — she got me in right away to do another ultrasound and I was extremely relieved to see that our baby is doing well and looking like he’ll be staying put inside me for a while (that’s right, I said HE! We found out it was a boy on Monday!). As for the symptoms — the constant abdominal pain, especially on the lower right side, the nerve pain in multiple locations, the horrible pain and pressure I have when I sit down… she believes it is scar tissue pulling and ripping apart (thanks to 4 surgeries) as the baby grows in size, and unfortunately there’s pretty much nothing that can be done for it. She did however give me some hope that the irritated nerves in my abdominal cavity may become desensitized later on. I sure hope so!

Despite the news that I may be living with chronic pain for quite a while, I actually left her office overjoyed by the fact that I finally didn’t have to worry about preterm labor. I felt a huge burden lifted from my shoulders, and I thanked the Lord for that! It was a direct answer to prayer.

On another note, in a little over a week my sister flies in from Papua New Guinea with her youngest son. It’s been almost a year since I’ve seen her last, and the excitement is building exponentially every day that her arrival gets closer! She’ll only be here for a few weeks but I’m looking forward to cherishing each moment that we get to spend together. After this I won’t be seeing her until summer of 2015… which is something I can’t really think about too much (or I’ll start to cry!) but there it is all the same. So it is with great excitement and joy that we anticipate her arrival next week.

Here is a picture of my sister and I while her family was visiting during my Bible college days.

Here is a picture of my sister and I while her family was visiting during my Bible college days.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lastly, my mom and aunts are throwing an early baby shower for me so that my sister can be a part of it while she is in the states. I was initially a little hesitant to have a shower so early (I will only be 21 weeks) but I am really excited to celebrate our miracle baby with family and friends. My mom asked me to create a baby registry and I have to say that it is quite overwhelming! I have some ideas as to what a newborn will need (thanks to my NICU experience) but beyond that it is a guessing game for me. I guess that’s why the first child is always the guinea pig — even their baby registry is a test-run!

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

2 responses to “Pain Update and Fall Happenings

  1. Congratulations on your baby boy!! So excited for you:) I hope the pain your are feeling subsides soon. I’ll keep you in my prayers!

  2. Thanks Tamika! I sure do appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

