A “But Not” Moment

Last week at my ladies Bible study, we decided to have an Easter dinner celebration together and, prior to taking communion, we individually shared what we loved most about Easter. As my turn to share approached, I began to think of the past month and realized how much it reminded me of Easter, a universe-changing event that didn’t result in what first appearances initially concluded to.

Let me explain. The past month has been comprised of 2 parts: One really awful, discouraging week filled with despair and sorrow (you may have read my blog post during that time)– followed by three weeks of continual encouragement, delighting in the Lord, and in short: HOPE. I cannot emphasize enough how much the Lord has carried me though this time of trial and struggle. After my bad week, the Lord really convicted me that I was starting to sound like “Ye of little faith” and I had to repent of my shallow faith, my inability to even pray in faith during that time. Since that time, the Lord has given me tremendous hope and peace. It is a glorious place to be.

This brings me to Easter. How many times have we been trapped in a dark place, where the future looked bleak and all hope seemed to be lost? This was the day our Lord was crucified. Darkness covered the land. He had died and that was that. Hope was shattered. When our Savior said “It is finished” we didn’t understand what that meant. All we saw was the mangled body of our Lord being put into the grave. We didn’t understand that all we needed to do was trust, and wait. In three days our Savior would rise victoriously from the grave and defy death. He would reign and we would be be made righteous through the death that He suffered, hanging there on that rugged cross. We didn’t know there was such a spectacular display of Christ’s obedience to the Father and love for us.

Over a year ago, I was out walking and listening to a podcast. As I walked, I listened to a pastor teach about the “But Not” Moment. He’s referring to 2 Corinthians 4 when Paul writes “We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed.” We may feel crushed, we may feel afflicted, persecuted, even struck down — but there’s always a “but not” moment coming! A moment when we see the Lord carrying us through these trials, when we see Him showering us with His love. We just have to wait for it.

Speaking of waiting and trusting through adoption and my health, we still haven’t heard anything from our adoption agency. However, in a huge answer to prayer, my surgery is going to be April 19th, not the end of May like we had previously been told! Additionally, I haven’t been in too much pain the past week, and that is also a big answer to prayer. The Lord has surrounded me with countless people these past few weeks who have encouraged me to keep looking to the Lord, to keep praying in faith. I am so thankful. And now it is my turn to encourage you, to be the one to help you keep pressing on. Because while today may seem hopeless, a but not moment’s coming. We just need to wait for it.

Happy Easter!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Adoption, Endometriosis, Infertility

3 responses to “A “But Not” Moment

  1. Amen. And good luck on your surgery. I had mine a week and a half ago and am feeling good. Hugs to you.

  2. Prayers for a successful surgery and quick recovery!

  3. imagine1125

    Just found your blog! Amazing! Marnie

Leave a Reply

