A Bump in the Road

What unexpected moments adoption brings. A sudden fork in the road. A complete lack of understanding of where the Lord is leading you. As a wise friend put it last night, “Adoption is like a pregnancy…a really long pregnancy.” I laughed and nodded my head in agreement. We’re just at the beginning; we’ve moved past the elation of deciding to adopt and now we’re starting to experience the literal morning sickness as we descend into a web of confusion. I pray it’s just a temporary confusion.

Confused or not, I cling to the hope that this whole adoption process will work out. Just as a newly pregnant mother does, I think of the little baby we may adopt that is possibly already growing in another woman’s womb. I pray fervently over that baby, and over the mother too. The very thought of it spurs me on to the next step.

Although everything we had hoped for lies uncertain at this time, I pray the Lord will give me peace and patience until we figure it out.

And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left. Isaiah 30:21 ESV 

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoption

Comments are closed.