The Tortoise and the Hare

The best way I can describe my husband and I going through life together is to mention the Tortoise and the Hare. He’s methodical, careful, and loves to research. We’re not talking the “I did a little bit of web surfing” kind of research. We’re talking the “I read 8 books on the subject” kind. He approaches life much like an engineer (oh, did I mention that he is an engineer?). Yep, he makes decisions slowly, but when they’re made, he’s got good reason and lots of literature to back him up.

I, on the other hand, work in a neonatal intensive care unit. I don’t have time to make slow decisions. I’m not saying I always make the best decisions, but I do make them quickly. Babies often need to be resuscitated, and nurses can’t wait around to administer oxygen, call in other people to help, or read a manual on resuscitation. I’m impulsive and I hate waiting. When it comes time to research something I bang it out right away. I read articles, order books, and talk with people about their experiences. I leap through the research process before my husband’s even left the starting line. Which is what brings me back to the Tortoise and the Hare.

Both the Tortoise and the Hare– my husband and I, respectively– got a taste of each other’s journey in life last week. It was a few days before my birthday, and my husband and I were going to drive to my parents for a little party with my family to celebrate. It was my 30th birthday, and it hit me pretty hard (unexpectedly), that I was turning 30 and still didn’t have any children. I was a mess of tears and just plain sadness that morning. The kind of tears that just keeps coming…until you have to force yourself to stop. Poor hubby. He loved me through it, and prayed me through it. After that, I silently and desperately prayed for patience as we waited to begin the adoption process. I prayed for peace and joy. But I was so anxious to begin a process that sounded like it was going to take months if not years to be completed.

I had begun researching adoption several months prior to last week. I had read books. I had met up with friends who were also adopting or had adopted. Adoption did not feel like a new subject to me. In fact, I already knew where I thought we should adopt from and all the reasons for it. I knew when we could start the process and how much it would cost. My husband, on the other hand, was totally wrapped up in the fact that we were in the middle of buying a house (completely understandable). He had done a little research on adoption, but was much more absorbed in the current house situation. That is, until the day of my little birthday party. While the Lord was helping me to be content in my child-less situation, the Lord prompted my hubby to start researching adoption – but this time it wasn’t Tortoise style, it was with Hare speed! By the end of the next day, he had come to the exact same conclusion as me in terms of what agency to adopt through and what country to adopt from. In fact, when he saw how long it took to adopt, he said that we should fill out the paperwork right away! I was floored. It was as if the Lord gave me peace to hold out a little longer while He spurred my husband on get the process going a little faster. It was amazing. The next day, we celebrated my birthday by filling out adoption paperwork together. It was the best birthday ever.

This is what I love about the Lord. He allows us to go through trials in life but He never leaves us hanging. He walks through them with us. Starting this adoption paperwork sooner than planned (about 6 months sooner) may seem like a small thing, but nothing that the Lord does is small. And so we continue our adoption process, one day at a time. Meanwhile, I’m trying to approach life with with a Tortoise shell on my back.

4 Comments

Filed under Adoption, Marriage

4 responses to “The Tortoise and the Hare

  1. Frances

    Awesome Em- Thanks for sharing : ) Your writing style is fun to read and flows very well! Glad to hear part of the story and can’t wait to see the whole thing unfold!

  2. Megan Kelly

    I am loving your blog my cousin Emron! I look forward to reading on;)

  3. Thanks so much for the encouragement Frances and Meglet! More posts coming soon 🙂

  4. Cheryl

    I am really enjoying your blog, Emily. How generous of you to share your heart and your journey with us!

Leave a Reply

